The Theodore Tannenwald, Jr. Foundation for Excellence in Tax Scholarship, Inc.

1275 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 200 Washington, D.C. 20004 (202) 383-0120 www.tannenwald.org

November 28, 2007

Herbert N. Beller President McGee Grigsby Vice President Mark J. Silverman Secretary-Treasurer TO: All Participants/Faculty Sponsors 2007 Tannenwald Writing Competition

Directors

Nancy S. Abramowitz
Herbert N. Beller
Stanley L. Blend
Hon. Mary Ann Cohen
Hon. Joel Gerber
Gersham Goldstein
McGee Grigsby
David W. Mayo
Suzanne Ross McDowell
Martin J. McMahon, Jr.
Patricia A. Metzer
Jeffrey H. Paravano
Steven C. Salch
Mark J. Silverman
Robert Tannenwald

Academic Advisory Board

Howard E. Abrams Alice G. Abreu Christine L. Agnew Ellen P. Aprill Joseph Bankman William S. Blatt Karen B. Brown Charlotte Crane Michael B. Lang Don Leatherman Robert J. Peroni Andrew D. Pike Julie A. Roin Deborah H. Schenk Richard L. Schmalbeck Daniel N. Shaviro Reed Shuldiner Lester B. Snyder Alvin C. Warren, Jr. David A. Weisbach Bernard Wolfman

I am writing to express thanks to each of you for participating in the 2007 Tannenwald Writing Competition, co-sponsored by the Tannenwald Foundation and the American College of Tax Counsel.

Fifty (50) students representing law schools throughout the country participated. We continue to be very pleased with the high quality of the papers submitted, as well as the broad range and current relevance of the subject areas addressed. In addition to the first, second and third-place cash prize winners, two additional papers were selected for special "Honorable Mention" recognition.

The winning papers are:

<u>First Prize (\$3,500)</u>:

James Bamberg

University of Florida, Levin College of Law A Different Point of Venue: The Plainer Meaning of Internal

Revenue Code Section 7482(b)

Faculty Sponsor: Prof. Kristin Gutting

Second Prize (\$2,500):

David Kamin

New York University School of Law What's a Progressive Tax Change? Unmasking Hidden Value of Distributional Debates

Faculty Sponsor: Prof. Lily Batchelder

Third Prize (\$1,500)

Joshua R. Mourning

Washington University in St. Louis School of Law A Tax Policy Analysis of Congress's Labyrinthine Stock Option Tax Scheme

Faculty Sponsor: Prof. Cheryl D. Block

The Honorable Mention papers are:

Lora Cicconi

UCLA School of Law

Blaming 162(m) for the Backdating Scandal: Legitimate

Concerns or Scapegoating?

Faculty Sponsor: Prof. Steve Bank

Michelle Christenson

New York University School of Law

Optimal Property Taxation: An Endowment Tax on Land Value

Faculty Sponsor: Prof. Lily Batchelder

We congratulate all of the Competition participants and sponsors on your dedication to excellence in tax scholarship, and extend our best wishes for success in all your endeavors.

Sincerely,

Herbert N. Beller President

cc. Foundation Board
Frederic L. Ballard, Jr.
President, American College of Tax Counsel